Clean system – LSU 4.9 for industrial applications

LSU: Universally applicable

  • The LSU wide-band lambda sensor is a planar ZrO₂ dual-cell limit-current sensor with integrated heater.

  • It is used for measuring the oxygen content and the λ-value of exhaust gases in vehicle engines

  • Thanks to a steady characteristic curve in the range λ = 0.65 to air, it is universally applicable for λ = 1 and for other λ-ranges.

LSU wide-band lambda sensor

As a planar ZrO₂ dual-cell limit-current sensor, LSU is used for measuring the oxygen content and the λ-value of exhaust gases of gasoline and diesel engines. Its heater is already integrated. LSU can be used for both λ = 1 and for other λ-ranges. A trimming resistor determining thesensor characteristics is installed at the connection-plug module. For its operation, special electronics (e.g. AWS off-value controller, LA4 or IC CJ125 evaluation circuit) are required.

Design

It is made up of a Nernst-type potentiometric oxygen-concentration cell and an amperometric oxygen pump cell. When subject to high temperatures, oxygen ions diffuse through the Nernst-cell ceramics – as soon as there are differences in the partial oxygen pressure at both ends of the ceramics. The transport of ions results in an electrical voltage, which is measured using electrodes.

Function

The components of the exhaust gas diffuse through the diffusion duct to the electrodes of the pump and Nernst cells, where they lead to a thermodynamic balance. Control electronics record the Nernst voltage and supply the pump cell with voltage. In case of a Nernst voltage of less than 450 mV, the exhaust gas is lean. Accordingly, the pump cell is supplied with a current that causes oxygen to be pumped out of the duct. By contrast,the exhaust gas is rich, if the Nernst voltage exceeds 450 mV. In this case, the control electronics reverse the voltage causing the cell to pump oxygen into the duct. An integrated (CJ125) component analyzes the signals. It includes the controller for thepump flow,the controller that keeps the Nernst cell at 450 mV and an amplifier.

Calibration

The sensor element is manufactured using thick-film techniques. Due to production distribution, the characteristic curves for differentsensors will vary as well. Despite a uniform 0 V output voltage at an oxygen concentration of 0%, at air the voltage scatters between approx. 6 and 8 V. Each sensor is calibrated individually in order to establish a clear relationship between the measuredoxygen concentration and the output voltage. Calibration is recommended at each maintenance.

Fields of application:

Engine management

  • Gasoline engines
  • Gas engines
  • Diesel engines
  • Lean-combustion engines
  • Block-type thermal power stations

Industrial processes

  • Tempering furnaces
  • Chemical industry
  • Packaging equipment
  • Process engineering
  • Drying plants
  • Metallurgy

Measurement and analysis processes

  • Flue gas measurement
  • Gas analysis
  • Determination of Wobbe index

Incineration plants

  • Wood
  • Biomass

Service

Just let us know about the application you are planning. We will promptly provide you with detailed information materials.

bosch.lambdasonde@de.bosch.com

Back to top of page

Imprint

© Robert Bosch GmbH

Sauberes System – LSU 4.9 für Industrieanwendungen

LSU: Universell einsetzbar

  • Die Breitband-Lambdasonde LSU ist eine planare ZrO₂ Zweizellen- Grenzstromsonde mit integriertem Heizer

  • Sie eignet sich zur Messung des Sauerstoffgehaltes und des λ-Wertes von Abgasen in Fahrzeugmotoren

  • Durch ihre stetige Kennlinie im Bereich von λ = 0,65 bis Luft ist sie universell für λ = 1 und für andere λ-Bereiche einsetzbar

Breitband-Lambdasonde LSU

Als planare ZrO₂ Zweizellen-Grenzstromsonde eignet sich die LSU zur Messung von Sauerstoffgehalt und λ-Wert bei Abgasen von Otto- und Dieselmotoren. Der Heizer ist integriert. Die LSU ist sowohl für λ = 1, als auch für andere λ-Bereiche einsetzbar. Im Anschlusssteckermodul ist ein Abgleichwiderstand installiert, der die Sensor-Charakteristik festlegt. Der Betrieb ist daher nur mit einer speziellen Elektronik möglich (z.B. Auswerteschaltung AWS, LA4 oder IC CJ125).

Aufbau

Der Lambda-Sensor setzt sich aus einer potenziometrischen Sauerstoff-Konzentrationszelle des Nernst-Typs und einer amperometrischen Pumpzelle zusammen. Bei hohen Temperaturen diffundieren Sauerstoffionen durch die Keramik der Nernstzelle – sobald der Sauerstoffpartialdruck an den beiden Enden der Keramik unterschiedlich hoch ist. Durch den Ionentransport entwickelt sich elektrische Spannung, die über Elektroden auf-genommen wird.

Funktion

Die Bestandteile des Abgases bewegen sich durch den Diffusionskanal an die Elektroden der Pump- und Nernstzelle. Hier werden sie in ein thermodynamisches Gleichgewicht gebracht. Die Regelelektronik erfasst dabei die Nernstspannung und legt gleichzeitig Spannung an die Pumpzelle an. Liegt die Nernstspannung unterhalb von 450 mV, ist das Abgas mager. Die Pumpzelle wird also so mit Spannung versorgt, dass sie den Sauerstoff aus dem Kanal herauspumpt. Fettes Abgas liegt bei über 450 mV Nernstspannung vor. In diesem Fall dreht die Regelelektronik die Spannung um und die Zelle pumpt Sauerstoff in den Kanal hinein. Ein integrierter Baustein (CJ125) übernimmt die Signalauswertung. Er enthält die Steuerung des Pumpenstroms, den Regler, der die Spannung in der Nernstzelle auf 450 mV hält und einen Verstärker

Kalibrierung

Das Sensorelement der LSU wird in Dickfilmtechnik hergestellt. Bedingt durch Fertigungsstreuung variieren die Kennlinien von Sensor zu Sensor. Beträgt die Ausgangsspannung bei 0 % Sauerstoff einheitlich 0 V, so streut sie an Luft zwischen 6 bis 8 V. Jeder Sensor wird daher individuell kalibriert, um den Zusammenhang zwischen Sauerstoffkonzentration und Ausgangsspannung herzustellen. Bei jeder Wartung ist die erneute Durchführung einer Kalibrierung empfehlenswert.

Anwendungen:

Motorsteuerung

  • Ottomotoren
  • Gasmotoren
  • Dieselmotoren
  • Magermotoren
  • Blockheizkraftwerke

Industrieprozesse

  • Härtereiöfen
  • Chemieindustrie
  • Verpackungseinrichtungen
  • Verfahrenstechnik
  • Trocknungsanlagen
  • Metallurgie

Mess- und Analyseprozesse

  • Rauchgasmessung
  • Gasanalyse
  • Bestimmung des Wobbeindex

Verbrennungsanlagen

  • Holz
  • Biomasse

Service

Teilen Sie uns einfach mit, welche Anwendung Sie planen.
Sie erhalten umgehend detailliertes Informationsmaterial.

bosch.lambdasonde@de.bosch.com

Zum Seitenanfang

Impressum

© Robert Bosch GmbH